Advisory Board

Mark Bertelsen
  • Advisory Board Member

Mark Bertelsen is a senior partner in the law firm Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati.  He joined the firm in 1972 and from 1990-1996, he served as Managing Partner of the firm. He has represented technology and high growth enterprises worldwide for over 40 years, specializing in corporate finance, securities, corporate governance and mergers and acquisitions.  The firm is the premier provider of legal services to technology, life sciences, and growth enterprises worldwide, as well as the public and private capital markets that support them. He is a trustee of the UC Santa Barbara Foundation, and served as Chair from 2001-2003, and is a trustee of the UC Berkeley Foundation.  He is also a member of the Dean’s Cabinet of the College of Engineering and Director’s Council of the Institute for Energy Efficiency at UC Santa Barbara.  He and his wife Susan have established the Eugene Aas Chair in Computer Science and the Bertelsen Presidential Chair in Technology and Society at UC Santa Barbara, and as benefactors of UC Berkeley are recognized as Builders of Berkeley.

Mr. Bertelsen holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from UC Santa Barbara in 1966, and a J.D. from UC Berkeley in 1969.

  • Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

Josh Bright is the Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer at UC Santa Barbara. Dr. Bright oversees all IT activities related to research, teaching, and administrative functions at our university, and keeps informed about technology trends in education and society in order to optimize IT operations. He holds the Ph.D. in Philosophy from UC Riverside.  

John Seely Brown
  • Advisory Board Member

John Seely Brown is a visiting scholar at the University of Southern California (USC) and the Independent Co-Chairman of the Deloitte Center for the Edge. Prior to that he was the Chief Scientist of Xerox Corporation and the director of its Palo Alto Research Center (PARC). He was a cofounder of the Institute for Research on Learning (IRL). His personal research interests include the management of radical innovation, digital youth culture, digital media, and new forms of communication and learning.

  • University of California Santa Barbara

Dr. Muniba Saleem is an associate professor in the Department of Communication. Dr. Saleem studies how media affects interpersonal and intergroup relations between racial, ethnic, and religious groups. Current work examines the social psychological antecedents of hate speech on social media sites as well as the consequences of being exposed to such speech for minoritized groups. Other work examines how and why minoritized members use social media for collective action.  

Dave Toole
  • Advisory Board Member

Dave and his team globalized, took public and sold technology company GaSonics. They were leaders in several competitive markets delivering a dozen generations of technology for the likes of Intel and others. He saw the cost of communicating with video and digital media disruptive and founded Outhink a digital media incubator that has several granted patents on real time communications on the Internet. MediaMobz is his latest venture, they enable brands, education and agencies scale the use of video to communicate. Dave has been in the video space for 20 years. 

Marie J. Williams
  • Advisory Board Member

Ms. Williams is a senior director of technology for Marriott International. She is an experienced marketing and technology executive. Prior to joining Marriott, Marie held digital and marketing positions at Hilton Worldwide, Capital One Financial and Ford Motor Company in the United States and Europe.  Ms. Williams graduated  USCB in 1989 with a B.A. in Economics and went on to earn an MBA in Marketing and Finance and an MA in International Studies from the Wharton School and the University of Pennsylvania. She was elected a trustee of the UC Santa Barbara Foundation in June 2013. She served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors and as an EAP Ambassador. She is currently Co-Chair of the Washington DC Regional Leadership Committee for UC Santa Barbara.